The Naval Academy Chapel was started in 1904 and dedicated in 1908. An addition was dedicated in 1940 which increased the seating to 2500 and changed the basic design from a Greek to a Roman cross. 2 massive brass doors at the entrance were designed by Evelyn Longman, and the 2 anchors that flank the long chapel steps were made for one of the Navy's first armored cruisers, the USS New York.
The stained glass windows are just breathtaking. The window at the altar is called Christ Walking Upon the Water and was designed by the Tiffany Studios. The Sir Galahad window symbolizes the ideals of the Navy.
Approximately 160 weddings are held here every year. Beneath the chapel, a naval hero from the Revolutionary War John Paul Jones is entombed there. His remains were brought to America in 1905 after 113 years of obscurity in a Paris Cemetery.